Neighborhood Image Manhattan Sky Line

Manhattan is the smallest of the five boroughs in terms of land area and only the third most populous borough, well behind Brooklyn and Queens. Nevertheless, Manhattan is the original (pre-1898) New York City and still clearly the most important of the five boroughs in terms of social, financial and political power it wields in the city and beyond.

The borough of Manhattan can be roughly divided into four big areas: Downtown, Midtown, Uptown, and Upper Manhattan.